Five nominated as top young entrepreneurs

The nominations are in and the finalists have been selected for the second annual Macon County Young Entrepreneur of the Year contest sponsored by the Economic Development Commission and the Macon County Certified Entrepreneurial Community.
   “We had 15 nominations this year, and the CEC leadership team sat down and went over each one before selecting the five finalists,” Macon County EDC Director Tommy Jenkins said. “It was not an easy process, and the CEC had to really make some tough calls. I think all five of the finalists should be proud of their selection.”
   In order to qualify as a young entrepreneur, a person must be under the age of 35. The nominee must also be a resident of Macon County, own a business located in Macon County and have been in business for at least one year.
   The finalists are Rodney Morris from Franklin Health and Fitness Center, Jennifer McIntee from Beyond Bending Yoga, Lindsay Wright from MoveMore Fitness, Tim Crabtree from Crabtree’s General Store and Motor Company Grill, and Brett Murphy from Arrowood Construction and The Bowery.
   “Three of the finalists are in businesses that are related to health and fitness, which seems to be a business sector that lends itself to entrepreneurship,” Jenkins said. “The field of finalists are each incredibly strong candidates.”
   Crabtree and Murphy were finalists in the inaugural Young Entrepreneur of the Year contest in 2015, which was won by Smart Pharmacy owner Jacob Reiche, and were re-nominated this year. 
   The 2016 panel of finalists were unveiled on Monday via a video sent out by the Macon County EDC in an email blast. 
“We are making an effort to be more digital, and I want to personally thank Paul Garner and Ben Walker for producing the finalist video,” Jenkins said. “They did an excellent job in a short amount of time and I think it allowed for each of the young entrepreneur finalists to get their message out.”
   BizWeek will take place from April 18-21, with a number of events including a Women in Business luncheon (April 18), a Workplace Supervision seminar (April 19) and a Message Mapping marketing event (April 20).
The winner of the 2016 Young Entrepreneur of the Year contest will be announced at the annual BizWeek banquet on April 21 at Bloemsma Barn. Anyone wishing to attend the free BizWeek banquet can register at Space is limited, so preregistration is encouraged.


The Franklin Press

Mailing Address:
40 Depot Street
Franklin, NC 28744 

Phone: 828-524 2010
Fax: 828-524-8821